February 6th: Epilogue

My fatigue from only getting four hours of sleep the previous night served me well: Unaware of the time, I dozed in and out of consciousness for what felt like just a few hours.  I remember glancing out the window of the plane and seeing city-sized chunks of ice floating in the ocean near Nova Scotia.  It didn’t really sink in as to where I was, though, until the pilot announced that we were about to land: I had slept all the way back to Newark!

The plane flew in from the north.  I was on the right side of the aircraft, so I didn’t get a view of New York City.  No matter, though.  I’d have a second chance on my connecting flight.

As soon as the wheels touched down, I thought to myself “I’m back. I’m back in America.”

2015-02-06 02b
A bloodhound sniffing for contraband.

Once out of the plane, I got my bags and headed to a security checkpoint.  A bloodhound was making the rounds with an official, sniffing bags for contraband or anything dangerous.  I’m sure the dog thought the entire thing was a game, with the owner excitedly giving it instructions so it would stay focused.  It was cute!

2015-02-06 01
I never thought that guy would become a verb.

While in line at the security checkpoint, I also spotted a sign that I thought Carmel, one of my now-former coordinators, would find amusing.  (See right.)

I got through the checkpoint, re-checked my luggage and found my way to the terminal of my connecting flight.  At 5AM on a Friday, it was virtually deserted.  There, I spotted text I hadn’t seen in five months: The name ‘Minneapolis’.

2015-02-06 03
“Minneapolis.” I hadn’t seen that name in five month.

I was excited, but I was also struck by an emotion I hadn’t expected: sadness.  Never before had I looked at the name ‘Minneapolis’ and had sad thoughts, but I had such a wonderful time in Tel Aviv that going back to my old life saddened me a little.

2015-02-06 04Shaking it off so as to not get into a bad funk, I stopped in the bathroom, where I spotted a ‘Wet Floor’ sign, written in English and Spanish.  “Ah yes, Spanish!” I thought to myself.  After living in a country where English isn’t the primary language, I’ve realized just how important that second line of text can be.  A translation can be a lifesaver.  It can instantly change a situation from foreign to familiar; from anxious and unsure to calm and confident.  My experience in Israel has given me a whole new appreciation for these translations.

Once aboard my connecting flight, I was fortunate enough to be treated to the beginnings of sunrise over New York:

Port Newark
Port Newark
Manhattan. Note the Empire State Building on the far left, and the beautiful new World Trade Center on the right.
Manhattan. Note the Empire State Building on the far left, and the beautiful new World Trade Center on the right.
2015-02-06 15
The sun had been chasing my flights all night. Now, it finally caught up.

After that nice photo opportunity, I took a look around the cabin of my plane.  There were only five of us on it!!  I guess a 6:30AM flight from Newark to Minneapolis on a Friday isn’t a popular one!

I dozed off, and once again to my surprise, awoke as we were descending toward Minneapolis.  This was perfect: I was now well-rested, and my flight was set to touch down at 8:30AM.  I had no jet lag!

2015-02-06 18Out my window was a now-lit winter wonderland.  I started searching for landmarks.  I spotted what I thought might be White Bear Lake, but that lake is northeast of Minneapolis, and the airport was south.  Thinking I had to be mistaken, I did a little geography in my head: “If that’s White Bear Lake, then downtown would be…” I looked across the empty sets to my left, and out the window was downtown Minneapolis, the symbol of my home!

2015-02-06 20b

We banked all the way around downtown.  I saw the lakes I know so well, currently frozen over: Lake Harriet, Lake Calhoun, Lake of the Isles.  My lakes!

From top: Lake Harriet, Lake Calhoun, and Lake of the Isles.
From top: Lake Harriet, Lake Calhoun, and Lake of the Isles.

As we lined up with the runway for our final approach, I took a photo of one of my favorite angles of downtown:

Downtown Minneapolis.
Downtown Minneapolis. My home.

Touchdown.

I was home.  My journey was over.  With a big sigh, I disembarked, got my luggage, and walked out of the airport.  My father was waiting to pick me up right where we agreed.  (It was another turn of good fortune: had the airport been busier, he would have had to circle around a few times in his car.)

It felt strange as we drove home, as though I had stepped into a time machine.  Nothing here had changed.  We went through so much, my adopted family and I.  We did so much.  Then, suddenly, I’m back and it’s like I never left.

I brought my suitcases into my house, sat down on my bed, and looked out my window.  Everything was so familiar, I couldn’t help but ask myself, “Did the last five months really happen?  Or was it all a dream?  A wonderful, beautiful dream?”

From time to time, that thought still crosses my mind.  Then I look at my phone: I see photos, videos, posts on Facebook and Snapchat, our WhatsApp conversation (which is still alive and kicking!), and I remember that yes, it was real!  It was all real!  With tears in my eyes and a grin on my face, I lament that it’s over, but smile that it happened.

It was the most amazing experience of my life.

 

* * *

 

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this blog as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it.  It was a chore at times, but I figured that since my journey was only going to be for five months, I could handle it.  I’m going to leave this blog online for the foreseeable future so that others can read and relive these experiences at their leisure.

As for me, my next step is to find a job in the renewable energy sector.  The purpose of my internship was to take control of my career and guide it towards that goal.  Now, I have experience in the industry, and proof of my commitment: I was willing to quit a good paying job with great benefits and great coworkers, leave a wonderful apartment, and put everything I owned into storage—basically, uproot my entire life–in order to pursue my dream.

Having lived in Tel Aviv also made me much more receptive to relocating.  Minneapolis would be ideal, since most of my relatives live here.  But I’m no longer quite as attached to it as I once was.  This journey has helped me grow.

I’m sure I’ll look back at this blog from time to time, smiling at the photos, reliving the memories, and probably cringing at my writing. Thank you for following along!  It’s heartening and humbling to know that there are people out there who care enough about me to follow my rants and recollections.  You were my inspiration, and what kept me writing.

Signing off,

Aaron Gendler